Lenten Ideas to Help Us Focus on and Become More Like Jesus

Here’s a wonderful post with ideas on Lent.

Fruitful Words

On Lent Eve (AKA Shrove Tuesday, Fat Tuesday, or Mardi Gras) I ate pancakes and decided my Lenten plan. And I wrote about the following: When I wake up on Resurrection Sunday morning, how will I be different? What am I preparing for? (Question by Rachel Held.) On Lent Eve (AKA Shrove Tuesday, Fat Tuesday, or Mardi Gras) I ate pancakes and decided my Lenten plan.  . . . .  And I wrote about the following: . . . . . When I wake up on Resurrection Sunday morning, how will I be different? What am I preparing for? (Question by Rachel Held Evans.)

I dabble in Lent. For the past 8 years I’ve done various things: given something up (social media, unnecessary spending), added something (usually a spiritual discipline), donated (money and items) to a good cause, and prayed more. I’m not of a liturgical bent, so I don’t really know what I am doing.

I never did well at fasting. I never spent extra time in confession. And come to think of it, many of my other attempts were also lame.

But I did these things to prepare myself for Easter. And while they were done imperfectly…

View original post 691 more words

About smkelly8

writer, teacher, movie lover, traveler, reader View all posts by smkelly8

One response to “Lenten Ideas to Help Us Focus on and Become More Like Jesus

  • Colleen

    Great article. Sometimes I just dabble, too. Depends on what is going on in my life. But I think that is really OK. I think God takes our little efforts and makes something good out of it.

Leave a Reply

