Deo Gratias

???????????????????????????????????????

Deo Gratias is Latin for “Thanks be to God.” Remembering to give thanks for all of our blessings, big and small, helps us to find God in our everyday moments and gives us an attitude of gratitude! Colleen at Thoughts on Grace has organized this meme and you can contribute by clicking here. This week I’m thankful for:

  1. Mary Poppins, which I just finished reading. The book is delightful and quite different from the movie or even the version the Mrs. Travers character in Saving Mr. Banks speaks of.
  2. Warmer temperatures. After some cold rainy days, we’ve gotten back to typical September weather with temperatures in the 70s.
  3. A fun birthday. Last week I celebrated with friends by going for duck and then having tea and cake back here. Facebook featured so many kind messages reminding me how blessed I am with friends.
  4. Madam Secretary, the new show by Barbara Hall. I saw the pilot and know Ms. Hall as a teacher in Act One’s Writers’ program. I like that the husband is a theology professor at Georgetown. Hall created Joan of Arcadia and I hope faith and religion are themes in the show. It’s a promising drama.
  5. That my classes seem to enjoy reading and discussing Romeo and Juliet. I like to share something beyond the bland textbook.
About smkelly8

writer, teacher, movie lover, traveler, reader View all posts by smkelly8

2 responses to “Deo Gratias

  • Colleen

    Susan, I am looking forward to seeing Madam Secretary. Now that I know who the creator is, I am even more anxious to see it!

    You asked me about Story of A Soul. An awesome book. It is in 3 parts because St Therese of Lisieux wrote it at 3 different times and focused on different things. It covers the story of her childhood and her entering the convent, her spirituality of the Little Way and how it came to her, and then her getting sick. I find it quite inspiring and have read it several times, especially when she writes about her prayer life and spirituality. The 2nd part is very prayerful. Her convent and her sisters put the book together and sent it out (after she died) to the other Carmelite monasteries/convents. It got out to the public and in a very short period of time was being bought by lay people and they had to keep printing more copies. This is how she became known to the world and soon after was canonized! I recommend it to everyone.
    God bless!

Leave a Reply

