Deo Gratias

???????????????????????????????????????

Deo Gratias is Latin for “Thanks be to God.” Remembering to give thanks for all of our blessings, big and small, helps us to find God in our everyday moments and gives us an attitude of gratitude! Colleen at Thoughts on Grace has organized this meme and you can contribute by clicking here. This week I’m thankful for:

  1. The lovely weather. It’s a bit cool. Maybe you need a sweater, but I’ve gone without. It’s warm enough to go without yet not so hot that you’re uncomfortable.
  2. The Count of Monte Christo, my book club’s book for May and June. I read a selection of it in grade school and just didn’t get into it. Now Sandra suggested it and I’m so glad she did. I’d have never gone back to it. Now I’m enthralled. Such a thrilling tale of an innocent man trapped by other’s lies, ambitions and plots.
  3. That my students are loving Les Miserables. We’re reading a version simplified for ESL students. I’m in heaven sharing this book with them.
  4. The patience God is teaching me to have. By nature, I don’t like to wait and was terrible at it when I was younger. Now I’m getting better and it’s not because I’ve read a book or seen Oprah — fine as such things may be — it’s just God working within me.
  5. The Pope. I like him. I’ve heard some picky friends worry that he’s going to to steer us into the direction the press wants him to go, but while I think the press confuses what Pope Francis says pastorally with theology, I believe God is working through him. We’re living in a difficult time, some call it a Post-Christian era. I trust that God has given us the right leader for our times.
About smkelly8

writer, teacher, movie lover, traveler, reader View all posts by smkelly8

2 responses to “Deo Gratias

  • Maria

    I’ve given several books a second chance now that I’m older & it’s amazing how much better they are now! I think it also helps that I’ve chosen to read them again as opposed to being required for a class.

    I agree..I think we have a great pope right now.

  • Colleen

    Wonderful list. I like them all. Never read the books you mentioned. Will have to put them on my list. I agree with what you said about the pope. I have a feeling no one can steer our holy father besides the Holy Spirit. He is definitely a good shepherd. #4 is awesome.

Leave a Reply

