A Thankful Woman’s Book of Blessings

On Wednesdays, Judy, creator of an inspiring blog, A Thankful Woman’s Book of Blessings encourages participants to list their blessings, to give thanks for the five things in the past week and then link to Judy’s blog.

Be sure to also check out her other blog and her website when you visit.

This week I am thankful for:

  1. Getting to attend mass in English! I went to Beijing’s South Cathedral and it was wonderful to attend their 10:30 English mass with French readings (in addition to English ones). How I wish I could participate in their Advent retreat, but it’s right at exam/grading time. Still I do love going to church in Jinan where I feel the universality that transcends language. The priest was wonderful, so genuine. He apologized, needlessly, for his poor English as he hadn’t used it to preach in 7 years. We would not have known.
  2. All the things I’ve asked God for that He denied. Yep. I can look back and think of things I prayed and prayed for, but didn’t get and in every instance, that was a tremendous blessing. Let me listen more for the Holy Spirit and God’s direction.
  3. The temperatures that are just a bit chilly so we feel like winter’s coming, but nothing to dread.
  4. A lovely weekend in Beijing and a chance to explore more museums and sights there.
  5. The chance to drop into Alice’s Tea House in Beijing. Alice is such a wonderful woman and her tea house is a gem. It’s near the hostel where I stay and I can’t believe she remembers me and asks about my friends. Then she offers a perfect pot of tea and warm conversation.
About smkelly8

writer, teacher, movie lover, traveler, reader View all posts by smkelly8

2 responses to “A Thankful Woman’s Book of Blessings

Leave a Reply

