A Thankful Woman’s Book of Blessings

On Wednesdays, Judy, creator of an inspiring blog, A Thankful Woman’s Book of Blessings encourages participants to list their blessings, to give thanks for the five things in the past week and then link to Judy’s blog.

Be sure to also check out her other blog and her website when you visit.

This week I am thankful for:

  1. Don Quixote, which I’m reading for my book club. It’s just delightful and silly. I wouldn’t make time for this except my online book club prompts me to.
  2. Talise, our foreign affairs department’s new assistant. She seems so kind and accommodating. What an improvement over the boastful girl who thought the job was beneath her.
  3. Adrienne, a friend and former colleague. I got to chat with her and I find her so encouraging and inspirational. She’s in her 60s and working on a PhD. She’s also got a very down to earth attitude.
  4. For how caring and giving God is. I’m not usually as spiritual as I’d like to be as I cruise or fling myself through my life but the last couple of days I have been blessed with a comfort in God. I can look back and see how well he’s cared for me and seen that I was sufficiently provided for in good times and bad. These thoughts are such a comfort as we all face an unknown future.  I just have this lovely deep feeling that He’s there for me.
  5. Now how do I follow that? Well, it’s hard to as #4 is all I need. But the idea is to think of five things and I shall. Hmm. I’d say I thank God for my love of China. I’m teaching here now and while I know there’s a lot of things (like the really, really dirty classrooms) that I don’t like, I do enjoy my daily life here. I’ve got a few colleagues who just don’t like it. They’re bored after a month because China isn’t what they expected. I urge them to visit Beijing or develop interests here. I hope they get over this boredom since we’ve only been here a month.
About smkelly8

writer, teacher, movie lover, traveler, reader View all posts by smkelly8

3 responses to “A Thankful Woman’s Book of Blessings

Leave a Reply

