A Thankful Woman’s Book of Blessings

On Wednesdays, Judy, creator of an inspiring blog, A Thankful Woman’s Book of Blessings encourages participants to list their blessings, to give thanks for the five things in the past week and then link to Judy’s blog.

Be sure to also check out her other blog and her website when you visit.

This week I am thankful for:

  1. First, knowing this is a very Catholic thing to do, I thank St. Anthony because my phone was returned and I found my camera, which I left at a store in Guangzhou and thought for sure someone would take. Long story. But I’m so grateful and blessed by the honesty of strangers.

    St. Anthony is a Catholic “go-to” saint for lost items For the record, though it’s hard to explain and in some cases people go overboard, in our hearts Catholics know and believe that all good comes from God, but we do have special spiritual relationships with saints. We don’t believe in worshipping them though.

  2. I’m thankful that this awful semester is almost over. It’s been terrible in so many ways yet we’re almost through.
  3. I’ve said this on other occasions, but I’m thankful for dark chocolate.
  4. I’m thankful for my friend Pei, a Chinese woman I met in Jinan years ago. She’s recently converted to Christianity in a country that doesn’t fully support the religion and it’s such a joy to see her embrace God.
  5. For my colleague Spurgeon who took me to his church on Sunday. It was a good group, though not my cup of tea. It’s a generic Christian fellowship and lacks some of what I like in a service, yet I was happy to sit amongst a group of fellow Christians who live in China but come from all over the world. We share what’s most important and the preferred music and sermon style aren’t big deals. Aquinus was right when he observed that God likes a plentitude of plenty.
About smkelly8

writer, teacher, movie lover, traveler, reader View all posts by smkelly8

2 responses to “A Thankful Woman’s Book of Blessings

Leave a Reply

