From the Writers’ Almanac

Hear My Prayer, O Lord . . .

Cropped screenshot of William Powell and Myrna...

Image via Wikipedia

Hear my prayer, O Lord, though all I do all day is watch
old black-and-white movies on TV. Speak to me
through William Powell or Myrna Loy, solve the mystery
of my sloth. Show me the way to take a walk or catch
a cold, anything but read another exposé
of the Kennedys. Teach me to sing or at least play
the piano. For ten years I took lessons, and all
I learned was to hate Bach. Shake me up or down. Call
me names. Break my ears with AC/DC—I deserve far
worse. Rebuke me in front of my ersatz friends. Who cares?
They don’t like me much anyway. Make me fat in lieu
of thin. Give me a break or don’t. I’m a hundred million
molecules in search of an author. If that’s you, thank you
for my skin. Without it I’d be in worse shape than I’m in.

“Hear My Prayer, O Lord…” by Barbara Hamby, from All-Night Lingo Tango.

I love how real and current this sonnet is. You don’t have to live in the Renaissance to write one.

About smkelly8

writer, teacher, movie lover, traveler, reader View all posts by smkelly8

One response to “From the Writers’ Almanac

Leave a Reply

