I’m looking for a church

I’ve felt rather churchless lately. In some respects that’s okay. I now realize that while a good homily is a plus an enlightening, not just entertaining or even inspiring one  is not crucial to a “good” mass.  Music isn’t necessary either. All that’s required is the communal prayer and communion. That’s enough. It’s okay that we have to exert ourselves to keep focused spiritually.

Yes, the homily is one of the priest’s jobs, but they don’t audition for their jobs, hopefully they’re following a call.

But I would like a good church if I could find one. One that would actually help me learn to turn the other cheek or to quiet my heart or to let Christ live in me. I don’t need a social club, a bridge club or yoga. Nothing wrong with any of that, but they really aren’t essential. It seems for the real hard stuff we’re on our own. There’s Christian radio, which is terrific, but it’s a lonely pilgrimage for Catholics who want substance in these parts.

About smkelly8

writer, teacher, movie lover, traveler, reader View all posts by smkelly8

Leave a Reply

