The Divine Conspiracy

I first heard of philosopher Dallas Willard at Act One, the Christian screenwriters’ training program. Willard’s intelligence and wisdom impressed me. About a year later, I picked up his book The Great Omission and later Knowing Christ. Both these books convinced me that Willard is one of the most important Christian writers of our time.

Now I’m reading The Divine Conspiracy: Rediscovering Our Hidden Life in Christ and again I’m getting both blown away and deeply rooted. I’m about half way through the book now and each day glean more wisdom. I won’t give this book a review, but will offer some impressions from today’s reading.

I’m now in Chapter 7, “The Community of Prayerful Love” in which Willard examines anger, condemnation and contempt. Clearly, all three phenomenon are destructive, no question. But how do we deal with them in our hearts and in our lives? Willard brilliantly examines the causes and effects of these qualities and provides examples of people who have eradicated or overcome them. He provides scriptural passages, context and explanation to help us see how Jesus really wants from us. As is true with the entire book I’ve read so far, Willard is wise and practical, helping us become who we’re really intended to be.

About smkelly8

writer, teacher, movie lover, traveler, reader View all posts by smkelly8

Leave a Reply

